The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), with headquarters in Montreal, was established in 1947 to promote the safe, orderly and economic development of international civil aviation. It has a membership of 129 (1975). Canada has been a member of the 30-nation council, the governing body of ICAO since its inception as a state of chief importance in air transport.

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU), founded to oversee application of the International Telegraph Convention of 1865 and the International Radio Telegraph Convention of 1906, is concerned with international cooperation for the improvement and use of telecommunications for the benefit of the general public; it has 143 member countries and one associate member. Canada is represented on the 36-member Administrative Council, the executive organ of the ITU.

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) came into force in January 1974 to protect intellectual property (e.g. patents, copyright) and to ensure administrative cooperation among the unions previously established for these purposes, the Paris and Berne Unions. In May 1975 memberships in the three organizations were 60, 81 and 64 respectively. Canada is a member of all three.

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO), a specialized agency of the UN since 1951, has evolved from the International Meteorological Organization founded in 1878; in 1975 WMO had 143 members. One of its major programs is the "World Weather Watch" for developing an improved world-wide meteorological system and environment. Canada was elected to the Organization's Executive Committee at the seventh WMO Congress in 1975.

The Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO) was established in 1959 to promote international cooperation on technical shipping problems and the adoption of the highest standards of safety and navigation; its membership in 1975 was 88. IMCO exercises bureau functions for International Conventions of Safety of Life at Sea, Prevention of Pollution of the Sea by Oil, and Facilitation of International Maritime Traffic. At the ninth Assembly in 1975, Canada was re-elected to the Council of IMCO for a two-year term and continued to hold a seat on the Maritime Safety Committee.

The Universal Postal Union (UPU), one of the oldest and largest of the specialized agencies, was founded in Berne in 1874 with the principal aim of improving postal services throughout the world and promoting international collaboration. It has 154 members. The Universal Postal Congress meets every five years to review the Universal Postal Convention and its subsidiary instruments. In the interim, UPU activities are carried on by an executive council, a consultative committee on postal studies and an international bureau. Canada was elected to the executive council in 1974 during the 17th Congress in Lausanne.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF), created by the Bretton Woods Conference in 1944 and established in 1945, was designed to facilitate the expansion of world trade and payments as a means of raising world standards of living and of fostering economic development. It promotes stability and order with respect to exchange rates, and provides financial mechanisms for balance of payments assistance to enable member countries to correct temporary imbalances with a minimum of disturbance to the international monetary system. The original membership of 45 countries has grown to 128, of which about 100 are classified as developing.

Canada's participation in the International Monetary Fund is authorized under the Bretton Woods Agreement Act of 1945. The Canadian quota and subscription is SDR1,100 million; however, with a quota increase agreed to in January 1976, this would increase to SDR1,357 million. The SDR (Special Drawing Rights) has been defined as being equal in value to a fixed basket of 16 currencies, one of which is the Canadian dollar. Fund holdings of Canadian